Add, Edit, or Delete Chat Rooms

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions (Instructor, Course Admin, Head TA). If you have sufficient permissions, you can use the Chat Room tool to add, edit, or delete chat rooms within a site. Also, you can choose which room loads by default when participants click Chat Room.

On this page:


Adding a Chat Room

To add a room, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Click Add Room.
  4. Enter the chat room title and description in the text boxes.
  5. Use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display.
  6. Click Update Options. Your new room will now appear under "Manage Rooms" in the list of available chat rooms. To make your new room appear by default when participants click Chat Room, click Set as Default.

Editing a Chat Room

To edit a room's title, description, or number of messages displayed, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Under the name of the room you wish to edit, click Edit.
  4. Change the chat room title or description, or use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display.
  5. When you are finished, click Update Options.

To change the room that loads by default when participants click Chat Room, click Set as Default under the desired room name.

Deleting a Chat Room

To delete a room, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Under the name of the room you wish to delete, click Delete.
  4. Under "Deleting chat room", click Delete to confirm the deletion or click Cancel to keep the room.