Create, Edit, or Delete Announcements

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

On this page:


Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions.

Create/Add an announcement

  1. In your site's menubar, click Announcements.
  2. On the Announcements screen, near the top, click Add.
  3. In the text box next to "Announcement title", type the subject of your announcement.
  4. In the text box under "Body", use the WYSIWYG editor to create and format the body of your announcement.
  5. Under "Access", select how to display your announcement by choosing from the following options:
    • Display to public: Visible to anyone (no login needed)
    • Display to site:: Visible to site participants only
    • Display to selected groups: Visible only to certain sections or groups. Use the checkboxes to choose which groups or sections can view the announcement.

    Note: If you don't see the Display to selected groups option, it may mean that there are no sections associated with your site or that your site has sections but you have not enabled the Section Info tool.

  6. Under "Availability", select Show to release your announcement or Hide to hide it, or select Specify Dates, and then select a beginning date and ending date for the file's visibility.
  7. Under "Attachments", you can attach a file from your local computer or from Materials, or specify the URL for a file on the web.
  8. You can choose to have your announcement emailed to participants in addition to being posted. From the Email Notification drop-down list, select the appropriate option:
    • If you do not want the announcement emailed, choose None - No notification.
    • If you want to send it only to those participants who have chosen to receive low-priority mail notifications, choose Low - Only participants who have opted in.
    • If you want all participants to receive it, choose High - All participants (the default setting).

    Note: Participants have the option to choose whether they want to receive all announcements or only high priority announcements.

  9. To post your announcement, click Add Announcement. To preview your announcement, click Preview. To cancel, click Cancel.

Edit an announcement

  1. In the menubar of the relevant course site, click Announcements.
  2. Under your announcement's subject, click Edit.

    Note: If you don't have sufficient rights to edit a particular announcement, you will not see the Edit link. Also, you can edit only one announcement at a time.

  3. Make the desired changes to your announcement.
  4. After editing, click Save Changes to save your changes, Preview to preview your announcement, or Cancel to cancel your changes.

Delete an announcement

  1. In the menubar of the relevant course site, click Announcements.
  2. Under "Remove?", check the box(es) next to the announcement(s) you want to delete.

    Note: If you don't have sufficient rights to delete a particular announcement, you will not see a box next to its title.

  3. Click the Update button.
  4. On the confirmation screen, click Remove to remove the announcement or Cancel to cancel the removal.